Listopia: Fun and less fun facts about books read in 2017

Photo: Pixabay

According to my good friend Goodreads, I’m 5 books ahead of schedule in terms of reading goals for 2017. This year I had to lower my standards, so the goal for the entire year is only at 30 books, out of which I have up to this point read 25. So, all in all, I’m doing pretty good, but the latter part of the year will be less filled with reading.

What are the 25 books made of? Let me reveal some statistics on the books read so far.

eight facts about books read in 2017

  1. There is a 101 year gap between the oldest and the second oldest book in terms of publication year.
  2. I read four out of 25 (16 %) books in Finnish.
  3. Ten out of 25 (40 %) were published in the 21st century.
  4. Only 3 out of 25 (12 %) were written by female authors.
  5. Four out of 25 (16 %) were written by William S. Burroughs (a rather scary fact…).
  6. Around 15 out of 25 books (60 %) could be in some way categorized under science fiction or post-apocalyptic stories.
  7. There are many great stories that I will remember for the rest of my life but I think BurroughsCities of the Red Night (1981) haunts me most in all the ways possible. It’s like nothing I’ve ever read, the style and format are very unique. I kept laughing out loud when I was reading the novel.
  8. This year I met two of the authors on the list in real life – Robert Silverberg and Emmi Itäranta.

During the same event where I met Mr. Silverberg and Ms. Itäranta, Worldcon 75, I also took a picture of George R. R. Martin but he doesn’t count since I haven’t read any of his books, only watched the series that you know perfectly well which one I’m talking about 🙂

“A circle only knows its own shape. If you ask where it begins and where it ends, it will stay silent, yet unbroken.”
~Emmi Itäranta, Memory of Water

I am pretty ashamed by the low number of female authors on my list. I think for every Philip K. Dick book that I read – you should really see his portrayal of women in most of the stories – I should compensate by reading at least two books by female writers.

I also should read more books in some other language than English. I used to read a lot in German but I’m slacking in that respect.

Well, how’s your reading year looking so far? Let me know your statistics. Have a great start of the fall season and take care!

“Who was I? The stranger was footsteps in the snow a long time ago.”
~William S. Burroughs, Cities of the Red Night

Photo: Pixabay
Photo: Pixabay
Author: fictivestina

Hey, I'm a native Helsinkian but a cosmopolitan at heart :) Outdoors, reading, writing and cultural attractions are my passion. Hiking in Lapland cannot be competed with!

Leave a Reply

