Story time: Once Upon a Time in Africa

“Not all those who wander are lost.”
~J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Getting Away With Nothing

This is a story on a brief moment in my life when I found absolute coolness and got away with something. Read on!

A tiger in Africa? No, just a cute little hyena :) Photo: fictivestina
A tiger in Africa? Not really, just a cute little spotted hyena 🙂 Photo: fictivestina

This story happened in real life and to be honest, not too long ago. I lived in Kenya for two years and I did quite a lot of traveling during the time I was stationed in the beautiful country.

Well, to begin with, this one particular time, I was traveling with some relatives north of Nairobi, the capital city. For a very short time, we parked the rental car on a parking lot and I used the nearby ATM. Once I got back to the car, there was a sweet lady trying to communicate something.

Being full of travel spirit, I assumed that the sweet lady was selling things – happens everywhere in Kenya. There are countless numbers of persons trying to sell baskets, animal figurines etc. And usually those things are really nice.

Okay, first lesson in life should really be that one never assumes anything. In this high-spirited mode that I was in, I waved my hand in a very cool way, like celebrities are used to, and told the lady “Maybe next time!“. Then I got back to the car. She looked perplexed and quite astonished. It was as if she did not know what hit her.

Once I was properly seated in the car and we drove on, my fellow travelers kindly asked me why I sent her away. They advised me that the sweet lady was acting in an official duty – as a traffic warden. But little did they do to stop me from getting away with parking tickets.

Okay, the moment of absolute coolness factor did not last all too long. And to be honest, this was the one and only time I have evaded authorities 🙂 I hope they still let me enter Kenya…

THE END

List of visited countries

An alphabetical list of all the countries I have visited so far in my life.

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Denmark
  4. Estonia
  5. Finland
  6. France
  7. Germany
  8. Greece
  9. Ireland
  10. Italy
  11. Kenya
  12. Latvia
  13. Liechtenstein
  14. Lithuania
  15. Luxemburg
  16. Netherlands
  17. Norway
  18. Poland
  19. Russia
  20. Sweden
  21. Switzerland
  22. Thailand
  23. Uganda
  24. UK
  25. USA
  26. Vietnam

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.”
~Augustine of Hippo

Mt. Kilimanjaro from Southern Kenya. Photo: fictivestina
Mt. Kilimanjaro from southern Kenya. Photo: fictivestina

Author: fictivestina

Hey, I'm a native Helsinkian but a cosmopolitan at heart :) Outdoors, reading, writing and cultural attractions are my passion. Hiking in Lapland cannot be competed with!

Leave a comment